Tuesday, February 5, 2013

February at South Texas: a look back

by Heather Kushnerick, Special Collections Librarian

Thanks to Punxsutawney Phil predicting an early Spring (something we Houstonians already knew), I was inspired to look in the archives and find some other notable February events and occasions. Enjoy!

  • 1964: South Texas College of Law moved to its current location. Our address back then was 1220 Polk Street.
  • 1970: the first time South Texas offered seminars. We had an enrollment of 155, making us the second largest law school in Texas.
  • 1971: Dean Garland Walker announced that South Texas would be the first law school in the United States to initiate a study program for the certification of trial lawyers.
  • 1983: The moot court team of Devon H. Deker (’83), Kerry C. Hagan (’84), Harry Keith Lynch (’85), and Virginia Paige Pace (’84) won our first National Championship at the J. Braxton Craven National Invitational Moot Court Tournament at Chapel Hill. Exactly thirty years later, South Texas has won more National Championships than any other law school.
  • 1993: The John O’Quinn Classroom was dedicated.
  • 1993: The Environmental Law society sponsored the first Environmental Crimes CLE Seminar.
  • 1994: The Center for Legal Responsibility opened. The Center provides training in managing conflict, resolving disputes, and devising settlement strategies. In October 1994, it was renamed the Frank Evans Center for Conflict Resolution, after the retired chief justice of the 1st Court of Appeals, who was the founding director of the center.
  • 2000: South Texas Advocates win their 70th National Championship at the National Constitutional Law Moot Court tournament, held at William & Mary School of Law. The team was composed of Robert Cowan, Alexandra Hogan, and Mark Junell, all class of 2001 graduates.
  • 2003: South Texas broke ground on the T. Gerald Treece Courtroom.
  • 2006: Kinky Freidman gave a speech about his current run for Governor followed by a question and answer session.